ExpandPrint
 

Department of Mobile Radio Systems

The Department of Mobile Radio Systems headed by Prof. Thomas Kürner deals with radio transmission in all its facets. The fields of research of the department can be classified into a matrix of four fields of competence and three application areas each. The projects dealt within this department normally can be assigned to one of these application areas, and in each project research is carried out in one or in a number of the stated fields of competence.

The department is involved in national and international projects inside as well as outside Europe. The basis for radio network simulations and the propagation modelling is the internally developed Simulator for Mobile Networks SiMoNe. Via raytracing and realistic mobility models it enables the modelling and simulation of network topologies and scenarios. Another key part is the as DFG large device sponsored UWB mm-wave channel sounder that is deployed in the channel characterisation and modelling of future multi-gigabit indoor communication systems in the THz range.

 

Since 2010, Prof. Kürner has conducted the IEEE 802.15 THz Interest Group in which the standardisation of future THz communication systems is fostered. Since 2016, he has been a member of the board of directors of the "European Association on Antennas and Propagation" (EurAAP).

ErweiternDruck
 

Abteilung Mobilfunksysteme

Die Abteilung Mobilfunksysteme unter der Leitung von Prof. Thomas Kürner befasst sich mit unterschiedlichen Facetten der Funkübertragung. Die Forschungsfelder der Abteilung lassen sich in einer Matrixstruktur in vier Kompetenz- und drei Anwendungsfelder unterteilen. Dabei zeigen aktuelle Entwicklungen in der Forschung, dass die Anwendungsbereiche zunehmend miteinander verschmelzen.

 

Die Abteilung ist in nationalen und internationalen Projekten sowohl innerhalb als auch außerhalb Europas engagiert. Dabei bildet der intern entwickelte Simulator for Mobile Networks SiMoNe die Grundlage für die Simulation von Funknetzen und Wellenausbreitung. Strahlenoptische Pfadverlustprädiktionen und realistische Verkehrs- und Mobilitätsmodelle ermöglichen die Simulation von Mobilfunknetzen und deren Anwendungen. Ein besonderer Gewinn für die Abteilung ist der als DFG-Großgerät geförderte UWB mm-Wave Channel Sounder, der in der Kanalcharakterisierung und -modellierung für zukünftige Multi-Gigabit Indoor-Übertragungssysteme bei THz-Frequenzen eingesetzt wird.

 

Prof. Kürner leitet seit 2010 die IEEE 802.15 THz Interest Group, in der die Standardisierung zukünftiger THz-Kommunikationssysteme vorangetrieben wird. Seit 2016 ist er Mitglied des Board of Directors der "European Association on Antennas and Propagation" (EurAAP).