ExpandPrint
 

Department of Signal Processing

The Department of Signal Processing uses modern methods of machine learning to perform research in the field of speech processing, automotive image/sensor data analysis, and quality control in production processes.

 

In the field of speech processing we are mainly interested in methods of speech enhancement, noise reduction, acoustic echo cancellation, artificial bandwidth extension, in-car communication systems, as well as instrumental speech quality measures. Further topics are beamforming and standard-conformant enhancement of decoded speech and audio, emotion recognition, gaze detection. Two of our maybe most exciting basic research topics are automatic speech recognition and information fusion. Our application areas cover car and office communications, teleconference systems, hands-free systems, hearing aids, gateways, and mobile phone chipsets.

 

In the field of automotive image/sensor data analysis we contribute to automated driving on the level of environmental perception close to the sensor.  Our current focus are reliability in neural networks, network topologies for image segmentation and prediction, as well as methods for identifying corner cases in big data resources. Also fusion aspects play an important role.

 

In the field of quality control and production processes we are long-term active in automatic acoustics and image analysis (visual, NIR) for quality control during (online) or after production. Here we develop expert systems according to the big data principle, having access to data every day and thereby continuously improving both robustness and intelligence of the system.

ErweiternDruck
 
 

Abteilung Signalverarbeitung und Machine Learning

Die Abteilung Signalverarbeitung und Machine Learning arbeitet mit Methoden des Deep Learning in den drei Forschungsfeldern Sprachverarbeitung, automotive Bild-/Sensordaten-Analyse und Qualitätsüberwachung in der Produktionstechnik.

 

Im Bereich der Sprachverarbeitung erforschen wir Verfahren der Störgeräuschreduktion, akustischen Echokompensation, künstlichen Sprach-Bandbreitenerweiterung, In-Car-Kommunikationssysteme sowie Sprach-Qualitätsmessverfahren. Weitere Themen sind Beamforming sowie höherqualitative, aber standardkonforme Sprach- und Audiodecoder, Emotionserkennung, Blickrichtungsdetektion. Spannende Grundlagenforschung findet darüber hinaus in den Feldern automatische Spracherkennung und Informationsfusion statt. Die Anwendungsbereiche in der Sprachverarbeitung reichen von der Fahrzeug- und Office-Kommunikation über Telekonferenzsysteme, Freisprechsysteme und Hörgeräte bis hin zu Gateways und Mobiltelefon-Chipsets.

 

Im Bereich der automotiven Bild-/Sensordaten-Analyse arbeiten wir am Thema "automatisches Fahren" auf der Ebene der sensornahen Umfeldwahrnehmung insbesondere an Maßnahmen zur Absicherung von neuronalen Netzen, an Netztopologien für Bildsegmentierung und Prädiktion, sowie an Methoden zum Auffinden von seltenen Ereignissen in großen Datenmengen. Auch Fusionsaspekte spielen eine wichtige Rolle.

 

Im Bereich der Qualitätsüberwachung in der Produktionstechnik sind wir bereits langjährig unterwegs in der automatischen Akustik- und Bild-Analyse (visuell, NIR) in der Qualitätskontrolle während oder nach der Produktion. Hier arbeiten wir u.a. an Expertensystemen nach dem Big-Data-Prinzip, die fortlaufend Daten aus dem Prozess nutzen, um robuster und intelligenter zu werden.