ExpandPrint
 

Multi-Gigabit Communications at THz frequencies

The Channel Sounder

 

Since 2004, the Department of Mobile Radio Systems has carried out research in the field of information transmission at THz frequencies. Thereby the focus has been on the simulation of the propagation of electromagnetic waves via raytracing and the modelling of the radio channel. Since 2016 the department is owner of the M-sequence UWB mm-Wave Real-Time Channel Sounder that enables cutting-edge measurements in the THz frequency range. The channel sounder was founded by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) and measures the impulse response on the basis of correlation in the frequency range from 5.2 GHz to 13.2 GHz. Frequency extensions also allow measurements in the range from 60.3 GHz to 68.3 GHz as well as from 300.2 to 308.2 GHz. Furthermore real-time measurements with a measurement rate of 17590 impulse responses per second as well as MIMO measurements with up to a 4x4 configuration are possible. The channel sounder has already been used in the EU funded projects iBROW and TERAPOD as well as in a project dealing with smart rail mobility funded by the Alexander-von-Humboldt foundation.

 

                          

 

The Channel Generator

 

The stochastic channel generator was developed at the Institute for Communications Technology in 2013. It creates different realisations of a THz radio channel and in this way enables researchers to investigate higher-level simulations of THz communication systems employing realistic channel models. The employed office scenario is described in detail in the article “Stochastic Modeling of THz Indoor Radio Channels” published in the journal “IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications”. The channel generator can be downloaded for non-commercial research in the download area.

 

                                                                                        

IEEE-Channel Modeling 

 

In the framework of the international standardisation activities in the IEEE 802.15 Task Group 3d 100 Gbit/s Wireless (TG 3d(100)), the first standard 802.15.3d for a point-to-point connection at THz frequencies was released in 2016. The channel modelling document as well as the developed channel models are open access and can be downloaded from the IEEE data base.

ErweiternDruck
 

Multi-Gigabit-Kommunikation bei THz-Frequenzen

Der Channel Sounder

 

Seit 2004 befasst sich die Arbeitsgruppe Mobilfunksysteme mit der Informationsübertragung bei THz-Frequenzen. Den Schwerpunkt bilden die Modellierung der Wellenausbreitung und die Simulation des Funkkanals. Für die messtechnische Verifikation steht seit 2016 der weltweit erste MIMO Channel Sounder für THz-Frequenzen zur Verfügung. Der als DFG-Großgerät geförderte Channel Sounder misst auf Korrelationsbasis die Impulsantwort des Mobilfunkkanals im Frequenzbereich von 5,2 GHz bis 13,2 GHz. Mit Hilfe von Frequenzerweiterungen können außerdem die Frequenzbereiche von 60,3 GHz bis 68,3 GHz und von 300,2 bis 308,2 GHz vermessen werden. Der Aufbau des Channel Sounders ermöglicht weiterhin Echtzeitmessungen mit 17590 Impulsantworten pro Sekunde und MIMO-Messungen bis hin zu einer 4x4-Konfiguration. Er wurde bereits in den EU-Projekten iBROW und TERAPOD sowie dem von der Alexander-von-Humboldt-Stiftung geförderten Projekt zur Smart-Railway-Thematik eingesetzt.

 

                          

 

Der Channel Generator

 

Der stochastische THz-Channel-Generator wurde 2013 am IfN entwickelt und bietet Forschern die Möglichkeit verschiedene Realisierungen eines THz-Funkkanals für weiterführende Simulationen zu erzeugen. Das dabei verwendete Büroraumszenario ist in dem Artikel "Stochastic Modeling of THz Indoor Radio Channels" detailliert beschrieben, der im Journal „IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications“ veröffentlicht wurde. Der Channel Generator kann im Download-Bereich heruntergeladen werden.

 

                                                                                         

IEEE-Kanalmodelle 

 

Im Rahmen der internationalen Standardisierung in der IEEE 802.15 Task Group 3d 100 Gbit/s Wireless (TG 3d (100G)) wurde im Jahr 2016 mit dem Standard 802.15.3d der erste Standard für eine Punkt-zu-Punkt-Verbindung bei THz-Frequenzen geschaffen. Das erstellte Dokument zur Kanalcharakterisierung sowie die dabei verwendeten Kanalmodelle sind öffentlich in der IEEE-Datenbank verfügbar.